Ireland launches “The Community Call”

Ireland launches “The Community Call”

Ireland launches “The Community Call” in major nationwide volunteering effort

Published: 2 April 2020

The Community Call, a major initiative that links local and national government with the community and voluntary sectors, was announced today by Government.

The Community Call is an unprecedented mobilisation of both state and voluntary resources to combat the effects of COVID-19.

The purpose of the Community Call is to coordinate community activity, direct community assistance to where it is needed, and marshal the volunteering energy of the country.

The immediate focus is on the elderly and the most vulnerable and mobilising rapid response in every country to make sure everyone is looked after. In the coming weeks, the focus will expand to broader the wellbeing of our society and how communities can work together to help the country through the Covid-19 crisis.

The Community Call was announced today by the Tánaiste Simon Coveney TD, the Minister for Rural and Community Development Michael Ring TD, the Minister of State for Local Government and Electoral Reform John Paul Phelan TD, and the Chief Executive of Fingal County Council, AnnMarie Farrelly who represented the Local Authorities.

Ireland launches “The Community Call”

At national level, Community Call will be overseen by a group from the Department of An Taoiseach, the Department of Housing, Planning and Local Government, the Department of Rural and Community Development, the Department of Health, and the County and City Management Association.

The Community Call will be overseen and managed locally by our Local Authorities, led by the county Chief Executives. The CEOs, the most senior public official in every county, have been tasked with making this work, and are leading a dedicated community Forum in each county to coordinate and connect the wide range of services and supports that are available. The forum involves an extensive list of state and voluntary organisations. A dedicated phone line is now operational in every county and the national number 0818 222 024 is also now in operation.

The following is the list of each local authority’s helpline phone numbers.

Local Authority Community Response Number
Carlow County Council 1800 814 300
Cavan County Council 1800 300 404
Clare County Council 1890 252 943
Cork City Council 1800 222 226
Cork County Council 1800 805 819
Donegal County Council 1800 928 982
Dublin City Council 01 222 8555
Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Council 01 271 3199
Fingal County Council 01 890 5000
Galway City Council 1800 400 150
Galway County Council 1800 928 894 and 091 509 390
Kerry County Council 1800 807 009
Kildare County Council 045 980 202
Kilkenny County Council 1800 500 000
Laois County Council 1800 832 010
Leitrim County Council 071 965 0473
Limerick City & County Council 1800 832 005
Longford County Council 043 334 4255
Louth County Council 1800 805 817
Mayo County Council 094 906 4660
Meath County Council 1800 808 809
Monaghan County Council 1800 804 158
Offaly County Council 1800 818 181
Roscommon County Council 1800 200 727
Sligo County Council 1800 292 765
South Dublin County Council 01 414 9043
Tipperary County Council 076 106 5000
Waterford City and County Council 1800 250 185
Westmeath County Council 1800 805 816
Wexford County Council 053 919 6000
Wicklow County Council 1800 868 399