Top Restaurants in Munster Announced!

Top Restaurants in Munster Announced!

Irish Restaurant Awards Waterford Winners

The Munster Regional Final for the 2019 Irish Restaurant Awards took place in the Strand Hotel, Limerick, last night where awards were presented to the country’s leading chefs, restaurants and pubs.
Over 550 people attended the third of four regional events on Wednesday evening, where the top establishments in each county were named.
The awards covered a wide range of venues and the winners from each of Munster’s six counties were selected from the following categories: Best Casual Dining, Best Emerging Irish Cuisine, Best Kids Size Me, Best ‘Free From’, Best World Cuisine, Best Restaurant Manager, Best Wine Experience, Pub of the Year, Best Café, Best Customer Service, Best Gastro Pub, Best Hotel & Guesthouse Restaurant, Best Newcomer, Best Chef and Best Restaurant. There was also a special Regional award for Munster’s Local Food Hero.
Speaking at the awards, Adrian Cummins, Chief Executive of the Restaurants Association of Ireland (RAI) said: “Now in their 11th year, the Irish Restaurant Awards continue to showcase the incredible food that is on offer in the cafes, pubs and restaurants of Ireland, as well as recognising the teams behind these establishments and the hard work and dedication that they put in. With well over 90,000 nominations received from the public this year, the standard for the judging process was higher than ever.
Ireland may be a small country, but it boasts everything from fine dining to high quality gastropubs, from the comfort of traditional Irish food to exploring the world though exotic world cuisine, the Irish restaurant industry has much to offer. We have an appreciation for what we eat and where our food comes from, as well as the dedication of those working in the food industry”.
All of those who won at county level will now compete for the Regional and All Ireland Titles, which will be announced at the Irish Restaurant Awards. These will be held in the Clayton Hotel, Dublin on Monday 13th May, 2019.
Top Restaurants in Munster Announced!
Check out the Waterford winners with links to their establishments.
Best Restaurant – Sponsored by Tindall Wine Merchants

  • Clare: Wild Honey Inn
  • Cork: Ichigo Ichie
  • Kerry: Mulcahys
  • Tipperary: Dooks Fine Foods Fethard
  • Waterford: The Tannery Restaurant
  • Limerick: 1826 Adare

Best Chef – Sponsored by Nisbets

  • Clare: Aidan McGrath of Wild Honey Inn
  • Cork: Ahmet Dede of Mews Restaurant
  • Kerry: Gorka Arrieta of Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant
  • Tipperary: Dermot Bannon of The Old Convent
  • Waterford: Peter Everett of Everretts Restaurant
  • Limerick: Wade Murphy of 1826 Adare

Best Newcomer

  • Clare: Little Fox
  • Cork: Restaurant Chestnut
  • Kerry: Solas Tapas & Wine Bar
  • Tipperary: KYOTO
  • Waterford: Everett’s Restaurant
  • Limerick: Rift Coffee

Best Hotel and Guesthouse – Sponsored by AIB Merchant Services

  • Clare: Gregans Castle Hotel
  • Cork: Adrift Restaurant at Dunmore House Hotel
  • Kerry: Lakeside Restaurant at Carrig Country House
  • Tipperary: The Old Convent
  • Waterford: The House Restaurant at Cliff House Hotel
  • Limerick: The River Restaurant at the Limerick Strand

Best Restaurant Manager– Sponsored by BWG Food Service

  • Clare: Kate Sweeney of the Wild Honey Inn
  • Cork: Elaine Fleming of Restaurant Chestnut
  • Kerry: Cliodhna Foley of Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant
  • Tipperary: Christine Ganon of The Old Convent
  • Waterford: Kamila Bystrzonowska of Momo Restaurant
  • Limerick: John Edward Joyce of The Mustard Seed at Echo Lodge

Best Customer Service – Sponsored by Lockton

  • Clare: Gregans Castle Hotel
  • Cork: Ballyvolane House
  • Kerry: Castlewood House
  • Tipperary: Lava Rock Restaurant
  • Waterford: Momo Restaurant
  • Limerick: The East Room at Plassey House

Best Café – Sponsored by Illy

  • Clare: Hazel Mountain Chocolate
  • Cork: Good Day Deli
  • Kerry: Maison Gourmet
  • Tipperary: Ponaire Coffee Roastery & Bar
  • Waterford: Coach House Coffee
  • Limerick: Hook & Ladder

Pub of the Year – Sponsored by Jameson Caskmates

    • Clare: McHugh’s Bar
    • Cork: Levis Corner House
    • Kerry: Foxy Johns
    • Tipperary: Jim O’ the Mill
    • Waterford: An Uisce Beatha
    • Limerick: Mother Macs

Best Wine Experience – Sponsored by Gilbeys with Bibendum

  • Clare: Dromoland Castle
  • Cork: The Black Pig
  • Kerry: Sol y Sombra Tapas Bar & Restaurant
  • Tipperary: Chez Hans
  • Waterford: La Boheme Restaurant & Winebar
  • Limerick: Adare Manor

Best Gastro Pub – Sponsored by Elavon

  • Clare: Pot Duggan’s Pub
  • Cork: O’Mahony’s of Watergrasshill
  • Kerry: Gastrobar at the Glenbeigh Hotel
  • Tipperary: Mikey Ryan’s Bar & Kitchen
  • Waterford: Geoff’s Cafe Bar
  • Limerick: Collins Bar Dooradoyle

Best World Cuisine

  • Clare: Tulsi
  • Cork: Iyer’s
  • Kerry: Lily House Thai and Chinese Restaurant
  • Tipperary: Befani’s
  • Waterford: KYOTO
  • Limerick: Taikichi

Best “Free From” – Sponsored by Peroni Nastro Azzurro Gluten Free

  • Clare: Peckish
  • Cork: Market Lane
  • Kerry: Bookstop Café
  • Tipperary: Jenny’s Kitchen
  • Waterford: GROW HQ
  • Limerick: Copia Green

Best Kids Size Me

  • Clare: JP Clarke’s
  • Cork: The Spitjack
  • Kerry: Yummy Café Market
  • Tipperary: Tuscanny Bistro
  • Waterford: No. 9 Café
  • Limerick: Coqbull

Best Local Food Hero – Sponsored by Rewarding Times

  • Clare: Birgitta Hedin Curtin of Burren Smokehouse
  • Cork: Eddie Attwell of Garnish Restaurant
  • Kerry: Chad Byrne of Chef Collab
  • Tipperary: Lucy Lambe of The Green Sheep
  • Waterford: Colin Jephson of Ardkeen Quality Food Store
  • Limerick: Tom Flavin of the Strand Hotel Limerick

Best Local Food Hero, Munster – Sponsored by Rewarding Times:

  • Chad Byrne of Chef Collab

Best Emerging Irish Cuisine – Sponsored by Odaios

  • Clare: Kierans Kitchen
  • Cork: PILGRIM’S
  • Kerry: No. 35 Restaurant
  • Tipperary: Dooks Fine Foods Fethard
  • Waterford: Seagull Bakery
  • Limerick: The East Room at Plassey House

Best Casual Dining – Sponsored by Just Eat

  • Clare: Linnane’s Lobster Bar
  • Cork: Elbow Lane Brew and Smoke House
  • Kerry: Alfie’s at the Ashe
  • Tipperary: O’Neills Bistro
  • Waterford: Bodega
  • Limerick: La Cucina Centro

Congratulations to all of the winners!