The 18th century architecture of The Mall in Waterford city is one of the best outside of Dublin. The Bishop’s Palace showcases what can only be called a golden legacy from an era of major prosperity for Waterford City. On show at The Bishop’s Palace apart from the beautiful architecture, silverware and, fine glassmaking.
Telling the story of Waterford from 1700 to the 1970s including a dedicated exhibition to Thomas Francis Meagher. His uniform and a sword that was donated to the people by his great great grand son that Meagher wore during the American civil war. There are also many items of national and international significance displayed at the museum and one such artifact is the only surviving Bonaparte ‘mourning cross’, which was one of 12 produced upon Napoleon Bonaparte’s death in 1821.
The museum also holds the Penrose decanter, the oldest surviving piece of Waterford Crystal, which dates back to 1789.
The Bishop’s Palace offers a unique experience for visitors f life in Waterford and indeed Ireland and throughout the word in bygone days. Containing a wealth of intriguing artefacts, period furniture, beautiful fireplaces and a collection of rare and important paintings. One of the highlight of the Bishop’s Palace exhibition is the view of Waterford by William van der Hagen from 1736 Ireland’s oldest landscape painting An entire floor of the building is dedicated to historic stories specific to Waterford such as Ballybricken’s pig markets, Waterford’s Home Rule story, the First World War in Waterford, the War of Independence in Waterford, childhood and household living in Waterford.